While everyone is watching the Olympics…


…I am pondering what to select from my short, but sweet, menu.  There is no TV in the household where I live so, luckily, I am not distracted by those darn Olympics!  Phew!  This gives me TONS of time to work on my food preparation skills.

Inspired by my inability to watch the Olympics, I have decided to provide a very tasty recipe that, if I were to own a TV, I would be enjoying at this very moment.  There’s no sense in keeping it all to myself, especially when it could be used as a delightful Olympic snack for all the folks fortunate enough to have cable.  I call it the “Greenwich,” not to be confused with the district in London.  It’s an excellent sandwich, with a very green hue to it.

Ingredients for 1 Greenwich:

2 slices of Dave’s Killer Bread, Good Seed (mmmm.)

1 medium avocado (depending on how much you adore avocado)

1 tomato

1 strip of Black Forest Bacon (also, depending on your love of bacon)

Condiments, which can be flexible, but these do taste quite nice together:

Mayonnaise

Mustard

Salt and Pepper

I think sandwich-making is fairly popular, so I’m not going to teach you how to put 2 pieces of bread together, but I will tell you about how to make it a Greenwich.  Número uno, I like to spread about 1 tbsp of mayonnaise and mustard on each slice of bread.  Of course, a little more, or a little less won’t hurt, so don’t worry if your taste buds are different from mine.  The avocado is the real star of the sandwich, anyway.  Then, I like to cook the bacon in a wee bit of canola oil until a slight crispness.  It helps to cook the bacon a couple of minutes before you put it on the sandwich, because it will turn into an unappealing green mess, if you place it on the avocado hot and greasy.  This means, you need to pat the bacon dry, as well.  Good idea, believe me…  Now, back to the green part of it.  I find that the sandwich tastes best when the avocado is sliced into 1/4-1/2 inch pieces.  This should be thick enough, so you can actually taste the avocado in all of its glory.  I then season with salt and pepper and add to the bread.  It’s tomato time!  Yes!  Cut one slice of tomato and layer it on.  Last, but certainly not least, I cut the bacon into about 2-inch long strips and complete the Greenwich.  Mmm.  It is certainly not the first avocado sandwich ever made, but it’s simple and delicious.  Perfect for watching international athletes compete against each other.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

